< 2019
2021 >

74th National Debate Tournament

James Madison University

Harrisonburg, VA

March 26 – 30, 2020


Resolved: The United States Federal Government should establish a national space policy substantially increasing its international space cooperation with the People’s Republic of China and/or the Russian Federation in one or more of the following areas: arms control of space weapons; exchange and management of space situational awareness information; joint human spaceflight for deep space exploration; planetary defense; space traffic management; space-based solar power.

Winner: N/A
Runner Up: N/A

Top Speaker: N/A
Runner Up: N/A

Copeland Award: University of California, Berkeley – Nathan Fleming & Miles Gray
Runner Up: Emory University – Eugenia Giampetruzzi & Zahir Shaikh

Ovid Davis Award: N/A
Lucy M. Keele Award for Excellence in Service: John Katsulas – Boston College
Ross K. Smith Coach of the Year Award: Not Awarded
Laurence Tribe Distinguished Alumni Award: Ouita Michel
James J. Unger Coaching Award: Michael Klinger – University of California, Berkeley
George W. Ziegelmueller Award for Excellence in Education: Allison Harper – Emory University

Overall Points Winner: Liberty University
Varsity Points Winner: University of California, Berkeley

On March 10, 2020, the National Debate Tournament Board of Trustees, in consultation with the NDT Committee, voted unanimously to cancel the 2020 NDT scheduled to take place at James Madison University on March 26-30. The Trustees took this unprecedented action because hosting the tournament as planned became a logistical impossibility and presented health concerns to our community due to the potential spread of COVID-19.

First Round At-Large Bids

  1. California, Berkeley: Nathan Fleming & Miles Gray (10)
  2. Emory: Eugenia Giampetruzzi & Zahir Shaikh (22)
  3. Northwestern: Gabriel Jankovsky & Joe Weideman (33)
  4. California, Berkeley: Nishad Neelakandan & Rahul Ramesh (51)
  5. Kansas: Azja Butler & Kenny Delph (56)
  6. Dartmouth: Joseph Estrada & Raam Tambe (66)
  7. Wake Forest: Nae Edwards & Roberto Fernandez (66)
  8. Michigan: Rafael Pierry & Giorgio Rabbini (68)
  9. Baylor: Alec Ramsey & Elan Wilson (86)
  10. Kentucky: Chris Eckert & Genevieve Hackman (106)
  11. Rutgers – Newark: David Asafu-Adjaye & Ryan Hemnarine (110)
  12. Harvard: Ishan Bhatt & Julian Habermann (113)
  13. Northwestern: Nina Fridman & Stephen Lowe (129)
  14. Trinity: Ian Dill & Ansh Khullar (143)
  15. Wake Forest: Ari Davidson & Tessa Harper (150)
  16. Georgetown: David Bernstein & Raffi Piliero (160)